Governing Council of the Abetifi College of Education Inaugrated


In the Abetifi Presbyterian College of Education, a Governing Council of thirteen members has been inaugurated.

The swearing-in was done by the, Minister of State in Charge of Tertiary Education, Prof. Kwesi Yankah. And it was done under strict social distancing protocols.

Members of the Council include Prof. Emmanuel Adow Obeng (Chairman); Michael Afrifa Darko, President’s nominee and member; Diana Ofosua Amoafo, President’s nominee and member; and Agnes Ivy Charway, Phyllis Agyeman Nyarko, John-Eudes Andvi Bakang, Festus Nyame, Dora Darkwa Mensah, Evelyn Asare Antwi, Charles A. Kumi -Aboagye, Dr. Alfred Owusu, Dr Vladimir Antwi-Danso, Bernard Bannor, all members.

Prof. Yankah, after ushering the oaths of office and secrecy, tasked members are to ensure that the college trained students  acquire the necessary professional and academic competencies for teaching in pre-tertiary institutions and non-formal education institutions and to build the professional and academic capacities of serving teachers through regular continuing education.

Read Also:  UHAS Admissions Entry Requirements for Certificate Holders

He urged them to comply with functions stated in the Colleges of Education Act, 2012, (Act 847) and reiterated the government’s commitment to pursue reforms to ensure quality education and ultimately improve learning outcomes.

“All these reforms would be meaningless without engaging the teacher, for the simple reason that the teacher is at the center of the educational system as the frontline deliverer and enabler of quality learning outcomes,” he noted.

He recounted how the government had since 2018 been upgrading colleges of education in that regard.


Source: Daily Guide