KETABUSCO, SHAMA win Spriteball 2020 Championship

The first surprise winners of the respective boy and girl titles of Spriteball Championship on Saturday in Accra were created by Keta Business College (Ketabusco) and Shama Senior High School (SHS).

Boy’s final

In 13 years of Spriteball, KETABUSCO has been excellent defending champions and five-time winners in the Mfantsipim School 48–40 games, to gain their first championship.

KETABUSCO appeared in the contest stronger, faster, and much more offensive when, in the opening game of this year’s tournament, they had a second victory in two days over the Mfantsipim squad after stunning them 32-24.

At the close of the first cagey period, but the gap was further extended by seven points with the second quarter resulting in 20-13: KETABUSCO, which had been improved by point-guard and tournament balling abilities Most valuable Player (MVP) Prince Gidisu.

Prince Gidisu – MVP!

Their supremacy was marked by the enormous number of rebonds, with Daniel Setordzi receiving a total of threes at both closings of the court: Nana Opoku Amusah, Richmond Dzikunu, and Prosper Davor.

Mfantsipim momentarily attempted a late battle by circumventing the sturdy KETABUSCO response with some long-range shots by himself, but his opponents were there to strike them on the rapid split.

The Senior High School of West Africa resisted Prempeh College 20-15 to place 3rd in Boy’s Section.

KETABUSCO Coach Senyo Ashiagbor, after leading his lads to victory, was named the Tournament coach.

Girl’s Final

Shama SHS beat St. Louis Senior High School 15-14 in the final of the girl preceding the boy’s final to win the silver trophy and cash prize.

2019/20 National Girls’ Champions – Shama SHS.

St Louis was leading three quarters in a fight between first-time entrants but was updated by Shama in the fourth quarter.

In reality, St Louis had a great chance to steal victory at the death, but Bridget Agyeman could not handle the free-throw pressure.

Bridget fluffed her lines with spectators jeering at her in what was the tie’s final action by missing both goals.

After beating Osu Presbyterian SHS 14-6, the double-time winning school girls, Kumasi Senior High school, took third place.

With Gifty Nkrumah and George Hanson named MVP and Coach of the Tournament respectively, Shama made a clean-sweep in the individual honours.

The Ghana Senior High Schools competition was funded by Sprite.

Staff Writer

Staff Writer is a Digital Journalist, Promoter, and Publicist who has a keen interest in Educational stuff, Media works, and an IT fanatic.